Vegan / Veggie ? Questions answered

If you’re reading this you are either Vegetarian or Vegan, have read the back of pack of our Bruschetta products and now have a question over the statements made. We get it ! We also are legally obliged to comply with Legislation.. confusing sometimes it is – but necessary for all of us manufacturers selling to you wonderful consumers! So here it is, take a deep breath and bear with :

The guidance for both vegan and vegetarian provided by the UK government states:

Vegetarian

The term ‘vegetarian’ should not be applied to foods that are, or are made from or with the aid of products derived from animals that have died, have been slaughtered, or animals that die as a result of being eaten. Animals means farmed, wild or domestic animals, including for example, livestock poultry, game, fish, shellfish, crustacea, amphibians, tunicates, echinoderms, molluscs and insects.
GREAT FOOD AFFAIRS BRUSCHETTA COMPLIES WITH ALL OF THIS.

Vegan

The term ‘vegan’ should not be applied to foods that are, or are made from or with the aid of animals or animal products (including products from living animals).
There are over 50 additives that are sometimes of animal origin, depending on how they are made. The vegan Guidance requires such additives to be derived from non-animal sources. However, additives originating from products of live animals, e.g. those from milk or eggs, would be suitable for products labelled as vegetarian. The vegetarian and vegan Guidance excludes products that have been made using processing aids that are non-vegetarian or non-vegan respectively, even though they may not be present in the final foodstuff.

STAY WITH US.. WE STILL COMPLY ON THIS TOO..

The term veggie or vegetarian allows for product manufactured from dairy products, however it prohibits the inclusion of meat. BIG TICK ON THIS ONE
The term Vegan does not allow for dairy products to be present in the finished product. BIG TICK ON THIS ONE TOO

For COMPLIANCE, we state this precaution under cross contamination but for our Brushetta products, our regulatory body for Manufacturing Accreditation and External Laboratory confirms – WE CAN DEFINITELY CLAIM VEGGIE AND VEGAN FRIENDLY.

Thanks for staying with us until the end. We hope this makes sense and you can munch Bruschetta with confidence. However, if you still have questions, please email us and we will get back to you asap. Now, chill, relax – you deserve a snack …. hmmm, wonder what you’ll have!!

UK government allows for prosecution under the following legislation:

Trade Descriptions Act 1968

Claims such as, ‘suitable for vegetarians’ or ‘suitable for vegans’ are subject to the general controls in sections 1 to 4 of the Trade Descriptions Act 1968 (prohibition of false or misleading trade descriptions).

Food Safety Act 1990

Claims such as, ‘suitable for vegetarians’ or ‘suitable for vegans’ are subject to the general controls in sections 14 and 15 of the of Food Safety Act 1990 (prohibition on selling food not of the nature, substance or quality demanded and falsely describing or presenting food). The 1990 Act extends to Great Britain. There is parallel legislation in Northern Ireland.

Vegan / Veggie ? Questions answered was last modified: March 27th, 2015 by Great Food Affairs